Blu-ray release: ‘The Bounty Hunter Trilogy’

By   |  Mar 24, 2024

Radiance Films are bringing the trilogy of Shikoro Ichibei bounty hunter films – ‘Killer’s Mission’, ‘The Fort of Death’ & ‘Eight Men to Kill’ –  to UK and US Blu-ray on March 25, 2024.

In Shigehiro Ozawa’s ‘Killer’s Mission’ (賞金稼ぎ), Tomisaburo Wakayama stars as Doctor and spy-for-hire Shikoro Ichibei who is hired to prevent the sale of firearms to a hostile Shogun. Ichibei returns in Eiichi Kudo’s follow-up, ‘The Fort of Death’ (五人の賞金稼ぎ), where he is hired on a Seven Samurai-style mission to protect a village of farmers from a ruthless Lord. The final film sees Ozawa return for ‘Eight Men to Kill’ (賞金首 一瞬八人斬り), in which Ichibei is hired to recover a cache of stolen gold from the government’s mine.

• HD digital transfer of each film presented on two discs
• Uncompressed mono PCM audio
• Optional English subtitles
• Audio commentary on ‘Killer’s Mission’ by Tom Mes
• Interview with Akihito Ito about Shigehiro Ozawa
• Visual essay on Eiichi Kudo by Robin Gatto
• Series poster and press image gallery
• Trailers
• Six postcards of artwork from the films
• Reversible sleeve featuring artwork based on original posters
• Limited edition booklet
• Full-height Scanavo packaging with removable OBI strip [3000 copies only]

‘The Bounty Hunter Trilogy’ is available to pre-order now from and

Phil Mills
Follow me
Latest posts by Phil Mills (see all)